Facebook has finally decided to introduce the much-awaited Unsend feature in its Messenger. The feature will soon roll out for Messenger users giving them a 10-minute time limit to take back and delete what they said, the social platform disclosed in the release notes for Version 191.0 of the iOS app.
The note reads, “Coming soon: Remove a message from a chat thread after it’s been sent. If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information or message the wrong thread, you can easily correct it by removing the message within ten minutes of sending it.”
Facebook is working on Unsend feature
In October, Techcrunch revealed that Facebook is working on the prototype of the Unsend feature. Earlier, Facebook said in April thatafter it was found involved in .
A month back, Tipster Jane Manchun Wong tweeted screenshots of what appears to be the prototype of the Unsend feature.
Facebook Messenger is finally working on “Unsend Message” in the app for everyone!
— Jane Manchun Wong (@wongmjane) October 12, 2018
Currently, when Messenger users remove something they sent on Messenger, it deletes only from their own inbox and the recipient can still see the message. However, the Unsend feature would allow the user to remove their messages from both inboxes.
Other social media networks like Instagram and, both owned by Facebook, already allow you to delete messages after a certain amount of time.